Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Access to Information

Publication 
Published: 2019
MANUFACTURE OF SOAPS, DETERGENTS AND FRAGRANCES

This report focuses on “Manufacture of Soaps, Detergents and Fragrances” sector in Qatar. This sector is further categorized into three broad segments, a) Detergents which include laundry detergents, dishwashing products and other household cleaning products b) Toilet soaps which include soap bars, bath gels, shampoos, shaving gels, hand wash, hand sanitizers, etc. and c) Fragrances which include perfumes, deodorants,​ antiperspirants and air fresheners. Qatar used to rely on imports of products under this sector. However, there is an increased participation from local SMEs especially in the detergent and fragrance segments, which has helped significantly in import substitution.

 
Publication 
Published: 2018
MANUFACTURE OF COCOA, CHOCOLATE AND SUGAR CONFECTIONERY

This report covers Qatar’s cocoa, chocolate and sugar confectionery-manufacturing sector. Qatar, which was traditionally reliant on imports of almost all major products under this sector, has witnessed increasing participation from local establishments that are engaged in the production of a wide assortment of chocolates and Arabic sweets. The sector forms an integral part of the food and beverages industry and its future growth will be closely associated with the overall development of the entertainment, hospitality and tourism sectors in Qatar.

 
Publication 
Published: 2017
FOOD AND BEVERAGE SECTOR IN QATAR

This report covers the “Food and Beverage Services Sector in Qatar”, which is an integral part of the hospitality sector. This sector comprises of sub-segments such as fine dining, casual dining, quick service restaurants, cafes, confectionaries, cafeterias and mobile food trucks. Qatar’s F&B sector according to statistics made in 2016 2,590 operational units with estimated cumulative revenue of QAR 6,993mn. The sector is an intrinsic part of Qatar’s economy where the cultural diversity and growth of the tourism sector, for business and leisure, has led to the flourishing of a range of restaurants serving dishes from around the world.

 
Publication 
Published: 2017
MANUFACTURE OF STRUCTURAL METAL PRODUCTS IN QATAR

This report covers “Manufacture of Structural Metal Products in Qatar”. This sector comprises architectural steel fabrication, structural steel fabrication and pre-engineered buildings. Since the construction and infrastructure sectors are the main drivers of demand for the structural metal products industry, the demand for products in this sector is likely to increase significantly in light of the future projects planned to be established in the country.

 
Publication 
Published: 2017
WASTE MANAGEMENT AND RECYCLING SECTOR IN QATAR

This report covers "​​Waste management and recycling" or "Materials Recovery", a sector that is likely to play an instrumental role in dealing with the environmental challenges facing Qatar. Segregation of waste at source is a major challenge facing solid waste management activities in the country. The rate of recovery and recycling of waste is linked to the stage of waste management at which an item is captured and separated. There is a large quantum of waste generated in Qatar, majority of which is not recovered and ends up in landfills. Various initiatives are currently under consideration, which is likely to transform the material recovery sector, making it more attractive for SMEs.

 
Publication 
Published: 2016​
MANUFACTURE OF GLASS AND GLASS PRODUCTS IN QATAR

This report studies the “Manufacture of Glass and Glass Products” in Qatar. It categorizes the glass and glass products manufacturing by type, which includes production of flat glass and its downstream products, glass fiber, container glass, domestic glass products, and special glass products. Qatar, which was traditionally reliant on imports across all segments of the glass and glass products industry, has witnessed increasing participation from local SMEs. Currently, there are 13 companies, all of which operate in the flat glass-processing segment. This report highlights 2 companies that were established over the past 2 years. These companies have developed substantial capabilities and currently offer a range of innovative products to the construction sector in Qatar. The gross value added by the domestic glass-processing sector has grown by over ten times from 2006 to 2014.

 
Publication 
Published: 2020
COVID-19: Guide for small and medium enterprises

This guide was developed by Qatar Development Bank in line with the relevant advisories issued by the Ministry of Public Health (MoPH) in collaboration with Hamad Medical Corporation, Primary Health Care Corporation and other government agencies. This document is meant to act as a guide for small and medium enterprises (SMEs) on business continuity planning, to help them deal with the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) outbreak.

 
Publication 
Published: 2018
SMEs Lending Status in Qatar 2017

This report provides an overview of the SMEs lending status and banks’ exposure to this segment. The report aims at highlighting key information related to the share of SMEs lending to the aggregate debt-financing portfolio, number of credit applications, credit acceptance ratio, purpose of credit applications and default ratio.

 
Publication 
Published: 2017
STRATEGIC TRADE DEVELOPMENT ROADMAP

Qatar’s Strategic Trade Development Roadmap (STDR) report is a collaboration between QDB and the Ministry of Commerce and Industry with the technical assistance of the International Trade Center (ITC). The report aims to set the small and medium-sized enterprise sector on the course of strategic development by addressing constraints in a comprehensive manner and defining concrete opportunities that can be realized through the specific steps detailed in the initiatives’ section in this report. The initiatives proposed in the report vary according to changes in relevant policies or institutions.

 
Publication 
Published: 2016
THE SATE OF SMES IN QATAR - 2016

Highlighting the key characteristics of SMEs in the State of Qatar and studying the overall SMEs’ performance based on combination of indicators at macro-economic as well as firm specific level.

 
Publication 
Published: 2015
HOME-BASED BUSINESS OWNERS IN QATAR SURVEY REPORT

This report is one of the three-fold research project “Home-based Businesses in Qatar: Current Reality and Mechanisms for Advancement”. The report aimed to highlight and analyze the main results of the said survey, which covered a sample of (535) home-based businesses in Qatar, discovering their demographic characteristics, business experiences, needs, challenges, and their future orientations, in addition to highlighting reasons behind discontinued businesses.

 
Publication 
Published: 2015
A STUDY OF INTERNATIONAL AND GULF EXPERIENCES

This output – which forms the second phase of the 3-fold research project “Home-based Businesses in Qatar: Current Reality and Mechanisms for Advancement”— reviews the results of the exploratory study on Gulf and international experiences and expertise in this field. The study qualitatively analyzed relevant publications with a focus on reviewing government efforts to establish a regulatory and legislative framework to support HbBs, as well as supporting various initiatives. Countries covered in the study include USA, Canada, Singapore, Oman and others.

 
Publication 
Published: 2015
MECHANISMS FOR HOME BASED BUSINESSES

This study is the third and last paper of the research project “Home-based Businesses in Qatar: Current Reality and Mechanisms for Advancement”. The study identifies the challenges facing HbBs in Qatar based on a survey results as well as seminars conducted with HbBs owners, and thus highlights recommendations and mechanisms proposed for the advancement of HbBs at the national level on both short and medium terms.

 
Publication
Published: 2020​
GLOBAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP MONITOR - QATAR NATIONAL REPORT 2018

The report outlines the social and cultural context of entrepreneurship in Qatar. The report not only reflects the positive entrepreneurial environment in Qatar, but also illustrates the extent to which entrepreneurs are accepted and supported in the country. Qatar has been ranked the first in the National Entrepreneurship Context Index (NECI). There has been considerable improvement in the twelve framework conditions according to the national experts. The outstanding performance of Qatar reflects a strong entrepreneurial spirit amongst its population, and a supportive entrepreneurial ecosystem.

Publication
Published: 2018​
GLOBAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP MONITOR - QATAR NATIONAL REPORT 2017

The Qatar National Report 2017 represents the second consecutive year that QDB has tracked rates of entrepreneurial activity; assessed the characteristics, motivations and ambitions of entrepreneurs; and explored the attitudes societies have towards entrepreneurship across world economies. This report draws on extensive market research involving the collection of high-quality data gathered from nearly 2,700 interviews with residents of Qatar across all nationalities and genders, aged 18-64 years. In addition to input from sixty experts in the field of entrepreneurship. The results of this report will help formulate a framework for a national strategy based on an open economy to investments, diversification of income through the creation of new enterprises and economic independence.

Publication
Published: 2018
QATAR’S ENTREPRENEURSHIP ECOSYSTEM MAP

Qatar's entrepreneurship ecosystem map consists of a complex network of institutions and organizations that support entrepreneurs and help to build a knowledge-based economy. The ecosystem plays a vital role in achieving the vision for the State of Qatar.

Publication
Published: 2017
GLOBAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP MONITOR - QATAR REPORT 2016

The aim of this report is to inform policy makers, academics, and practitioners about the multidimensional nature of entrepreneurship in Qatar during 2016.

تخطي أوامر الشريط
التخطي إلى المحتوى الأساسي

​​​​​

الوصول إلى المعلومات ​

Publication  
سنة النشر: 2019
صناعة الصابون والمنظّفات والعطور

يتناول هذا التقرير قطاع "صناعة الصابون والمنظّفات والعطور" في قطر، ويشمل هذا القطاع ثلاثة من القطاعات الفرعية للمنتجات وهي: أ) المنظّفات بما فيها مساحيق وسوائل الغسيل وسوائل تنظيف الأطباق والأواني والمنظفات المنزلية الأخرى، ب) صابون الحمام والذي يشمل بدوره الصابون الصلب وجلّ الحمّام والشامبوهات وصابون اليدين وسوائل تعقيم اليدين، ت) المنتجات العطرية والتي تشمل بدورها العطور ومزيلات الروائح ومضادّات التعرّق ومعطّرات الهواء. تشهد السوق المحلية القطرية التي كانت تعتمد على الواردات في سد احتياجاتها من السلع المدرجة تحت هذا القطاع. مساهمة فعلية ومتنامية من قبل المنشآت الصغيرة والمتوسطة القطرية خاصة المُنتِجَة لمساحيق وسوائل الغسيل والعطور في سد جزء من احتياجات السوق من هذه السلع وإحلال المنتجات المحليّة مكان المستوردة.

 
Publication  
سنة النشر: 2018
صناعة الكاكاو وحلوى الشوكولاتة وحلوى السكّر في قطر

يتناول هذا التقرير من هذه السلسلة قطاع "صناعة الكاكاو وحلوى الشوكولاتة وحلوى السكّر"، وقد شهدت السوق القطرية، التي كانت في السابق تستورد معظم المنتجات الرئيسية المندرجة تحت هذا القطاع، مساهمات متزايدة من قبل شركات محلية منتجة لمجموعة واسعة من حلوى الشوكولاتة والحلويات العربية. يشكل قطاع صناعة الكاكاو والشوكولاتة وحلوى السكّر جزءً لا يتجزّأ من صناعة الأطعمة والمشروبات ويرتبط نموها المستقبلي بشكل وثيق بنمو قطاعي الترفيه والضيافة والسياحة في قطر، وانتشار منافذ بيع الحلوى بالمجمّعات التجارية الجديدة والفنادق على اختلاف درجاتها ومحطات المترو، الأمر الذي يسهم في تعزيز نمو المشاريع والأعمال في مضمار صناعة الشوكولاتة.

 
Publication  
سنة النشر: 2017
قطاع خدمات​ الأغذية والمشروبات في قطر

يتناول هذا التقرير قطاع "خدمات الأطعمة والمشروبات"، باعتباره أحد القطاعات التي تعدّ جزءاً لا يتجزأ من قطاع الضيافة، ويشمل قطاع خدمات الأطعمة والمشروبات قطاعات فرعية مثل قطاع المطاعم الفاخرة، قطاع المطاعم العادية (Casual Dining)، قطاع مطاعم الوجبات السريعة، قطاع المقاهي، قطاع محال بيع الحلويات، قطاع محال الكافتيريا، وقطاع شاحنات بيع الأطعمة المتنقلة، ويضمّ قطاع الأطعمة والمشروبات في قطر بحسب إحصائيات العام 2016 حوالي 2,950 منفذاً تقدّر إيراداتها مجتمعة بحوالي 6,993 مليون ريال قطري وذلك، ويعتبر هذا القطاع جزءاً متأصّلاً في الاقتصاد القطري حيث أدّى التنوع الثقافي للتركيبة السكانية ونمو قطاع السياحة - الاقتصادية والترفيهية - في قطر على مرّ السنين الى ازدهار مجموعة من المطاعم التي تقدّم أطباقاً من مختلف أنحاء العالم.

 
Publication  
سنة النشر: 2017
صناعة الهياكل الإنشائية المعدنية في قطر

يتناول هذا التقرير قطاع "صناعة الهياكل الإنشائية المعدنية" والذي يشمل منتجات مثل الهياكل الإنشائية الفولاذية، والمباني مسبقة التصميم، والمباني الجاهزة، والفولاذ المعماري، والألومنيوم المعماري. وبما أن قطاعي الإنشاءات والبنى التحتية يشكّلان الدافع الرئيسي وراء الطلب على منتجات قطاع صناعة الهياكل الإنشائية المعدنية فإن من المرجّح أن يشهد الطلب على منتجات هذا القطاع ارتفاعاً ملحوظاً وذلك في ظل المشاريع المستقبلية المخطّط لإقامتها في الدولة.

 
Publication  
سنة النشر: 2017
قطاع إدارة وتدوير المخلّفات في قطر

يتناول هذا التقرير قطاع "إدارة وتدوير المخلفات" والذي يندرج تحت مظلة عملية إعادة تدوير المخلفات. يتضح من التقرير أهمية هذا القطاع وحيويته الاقتصادية، حيث وبالرغم من ذلك يواجه عدد من التحديات. وتعتبر عملية فرز النفايات من نقطة المصدر من أهم التحدّيات التي تواجه عملية إدارة النفايات الصلبة في قطر، وترتبط كفاءة عملية إدارة ومعالجة المخلّفات وإعادة تدويرها ارتباطاً وثيقاً بالمرحلة التي يتم فيها جمع وفرز النفايات. وفي هذا القطاع تزيد فرصة الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة في لعب دور محوري من خلال المشاركة في عمليات جمع وفرز، ومعالجة وتدوير المخلّفات إلى مواد ذات قيمة مضافة.

 
Publication  
سنة النشر: 2016
صناعة الزجاج والمنتجات الزجاجية في قطر

يتناول هذا التقرير قطاع "صناعة الزجاج والمنتجات الزجاجية في قطر"، حيث يتضمن هذا القطاع صناعة الزجاج المسطّح والمنتجات الفرعية المتّصلة به مثل الألياف الزجاجية، والحاويات الزجاجية، والأواني المنزلية الزجاجية، والمنتجات الزجاجية الخاصة. تشهد السوق المحلية القطرية -التي كانت تعتمد على الواردات في سد احتياجاتها من الزجاج والمنتجات الزجاجية بكافة فئاته - مساهمة فعلية ومتنامية من قبل المنشآت الصغيرة والمتوسطة القطرية العاملة في سد جزء من احتياجات السوق من الزجاج والمنتجات الزجاجية، حيث تندرج تحت هذا القطاع 13 شركة محلية تعمل جميعها في قطاع صناعة ومعالجة الزجاج المسطّح، ويشمل هذا العدد شركتين تم تأسيسهما خلال العامين الماضيين. وقد قامت الشركات المحلية المشار إليها بتطوير إمكاناتها وقدراتها التقنية والإنتاجية بحيث تمكنت من إنتاج وتقديم العديد من المنتجات المبتكرة لقطاع الإنشاءات في قطر. وقد نما إجمالي القيمة المضافة لقطاع تصنيع ومعالجة الزجاج المحلي بمعدل عشرة أضعاف في الفترة 2006 – 2014.

 
Publication
سنة النشر: 2018
تقرير وضع اقراض الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسط في قطر 2017​

يأتي هذا التقرير ليقدم ملخصًا لأهم المعلومات المتعلقة بتمويل الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة داخل القطاع المصرفي. حيث يهدف هذا التقرير إلى الوقوف على وضع التمويل المصرفي للشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة في قطر من حيث حصتهم في التمويل، نسب قبول طلبات الإئتمان، الغرض من طلب التمويل، ومعدلات الديون المتعثرة.

 
Publication 
سنة النشر: 2017
خارطة طريق تطوير التجارة الاستراتيجية

يأتي تقرير "خارطة طريق التنمية التجارية لتعزيز القدرة التنافسية للمشروعات الصغيرة والمتوسطة في قطر" كثمرة تعاون بين كل من بنك قطر للتنمية ووزارة التجارة والصناعة (وزارة "الاقتصاد والتجارة" حينها) وبمساعدة فنية من مركز التجارة الدولي، حيث يهدف التقرير إلى وضع قطاع المشاريع الصغيرة والمتوسطة على طريق التنمية الاستراتيجية، ولتحقيق ذلك سلّط التقرير الضوء على القيود والتحديات الراهنة، ومن ثم تحديد الفرص والمبادرات التي من شأنها إتاحة دور أكبر لذلك القطاع، وتحسين بيئة الأعمال، فضلاً عن تحديد القطاعات الاقتصادية التي تتمتّع بأولوية خاصة. يذكر أن المبادرات المطروحة بالتقرير تتنوع لتشمل تغييرات بالسياسات أو المؤسّسات ذات الصلة.

 
Publication 
سنة النشر: 2016
تقرير وضع الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة في قطر – 2016

سلّط التقرير الضوء على أداء الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة في قطر. كما يستعرض التقرير التحديات الرئيسية والقضايا التي تواجهها الشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة فيما يتعلق ببيئة الأعمال.

 
Publication 
سنة النشر: 2015
تقرير مسح أصحاب المشروعات المنزلية في قطر

يعدّ هذا التقرير واحد من ضمن ثلاث إصدارات تندرج تحت المشروع البحثي "المشروعات المنزلية في قطر: واقعها الراهن وآليات النهوض بها". وقد استهدف هذا التقرير استعراض وتحليل النتائج الرئيسية للمسح الذي تم على عينة من المشروعات المنزلية بلغت (535) مشروع، وتبيان الخصائص الديموغرافية، وخبراتهم العملية، فضلاً عن احتياجاتهم، وتحدياتهم، وتوجهاتهم المستقبلية، وأسباب توقف بعض المشروعات.

 
Publication 
سنة النشر: 2015
دراسة الخبرات الدولية والخليجية في مجال تنمية المشروعات المنزلية

جاءت هذه الدراسة ضمن ثلاث إصدارات تندرج تحت المشروع البحثي "المشروعات المنزلية في قطر: واقعها الراهن وآليات النهوض بها". وقد استهدفت هذه الدراسة التعرّف على عدد من التجارب الدولية والخليجية في مجال تطوير ومساندة المشروعات المنزلية، وتسليط الضوء على أهم الدروس المستفادة التي يمكن استخلاصها. وقد شملت تلك الدول التي تم تناولها بالدراسة: الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية، كندا، سنغافورة، عمان وتجارب أخرى.

 
Publication 
سنة النشر: 2015
دراسة آليات النهوض بالمشروعات المنزلية في قطر

تعتبر هذه الدراسة الإصدار الثالث والأخير ضمن المشروع البحثي "المشروعات المنزلية في قطر: واقعها الراهن وآليات النهوض بها". وتستهدف هذه الدراسة تبيان الملامح الرئيسة لواقع التحديات التي تعوق تنمية المشروعات المنزلية استناداً إلى نتائج المسح والحلقات النقاشية التي تمت مع أصحاب المشروعات المنزلية، وبالتالي اقتراح توصيات وبدائل سياسات يمكن تبنيها في المدى الزمني القصير والمتوسط.

 
Publication
سنة النشر: 2018​
المرصد العالمي لريادة الأعمال تقرير دولة قطر لعام 2017

يمثل تقرير دولة قطر لعام 2017 النسخة الثانية من التقارير التي ترصد مؤشرات نشاط ريادة الأعمال في قطر؛ وتبين خصائص رواد الأعمال ودوافعهم وطموحاتهم؛ وتدرس توجهات المجتمعات حيال ريادة الأعمال في مختلف دول العالم. وسوف تساعد نتائج هذا التقرير المستسقاة من استبيانات المرصد العالمي لريادة الأعمال في صياغة إطار لاستراتيجية وطنية ترتكز على انفتاح الاقتصاد أمام الاستثمار والمشروعات، وعلى تنويع مصادر الدخل من خلال نمو المنشآت الجديدة، وتحقيق الاستقلال الاقتصادي. تم إعداد التقرير وفقاً لدراسة شاملة ودقيقة، تتألف من استطلاع رأي لأكثر من 2,700 مشارك من الرجال والنساء ومن مختلف الجنسيات الذين يقيمون في دولة قطر، من الفئة العمرية 18-64 عاماً. بالإضافة إلى استطلاع آراء ستون خبيراَ في مجال ريادة الأعمال حول كافة المؤشرات والعناصر التفصيلية المؤثرة على واقع ومستقبل ريادة الأعمال في الدولة.

 
Publication
سنة النشر: 2018
خارطة بيئة ريادة الأعمال في قطر

تتكون خارطة بيئة ريادة الأعمال في دولة قطر من شبكة معقّدة من المؤسّسات والمنظّمات التي تدعم رواد الأعمال وتساعد في بناء اقتصاد قائم على المعرفة. وتلعب البيئة دوراً حيوياً في تحقيق رؤية دولة قطر.

 
Publication
سنة النشر: 2017
المرصد العالمي لريادة الأعمال - تقرير دولة قطر لعام 2016

يسلّط التقرير الضوء على منظومة ريادة الأعمال في دولة قطر لعام 2016 مع دراسة أنشطة وتطلّعات رواد الأعمال في الدولة، بالإضافة إلى التحديات الرئيسية التي يوجهها رواد الأعمال والحلول المقترحة.

 
​​​